Welcome to empowr,
where you earn by simply posting:
 
photos,
updates,
videos,
blogs
Good news! You got 1 free crypto coin thanks to your inviter. Send them a quick thanks after you sign up!

New to empowr?

What time is Olympic Games opening ceremony for Rio 2016 and how long does it go on for?

By Jasmine Johnson & Michael Cantillon   

The range of starting times is vast. The ceremony starts at 20:00 in Brazil, 01:00 in Denmark and 11:00 in Fiji

What time is Olympic Games opening ceremony for Rio 2016 and how long does it go on for?

The dress rehearsal took place on Sunday with Rio residents getting a little taste of the action

What time does the Rio 2016 Opening Ceremony start?

The Olympic Games curtain-raiser begins at 20:00:00 local time on Friday 5 August 2016 in Rio de Janeiro. For times elsewhere around the globe, see below.

Follow the Olympic Games opening ceremony with Rio2016.com

Where does it take place?

At the famous Maracanã, officially the Estádio Jornalista Mário Filho. The stadium will stage the opening and closing ceremonies and the decisive matches of the men's and women's football tournaments (both finals and one semi-final in each).

The iconic venue was modernised for the 2014 FIFA World Cup and can hold 74,738 spectators.

Where can I watch the show?

It will be on TV where you are, (unless there's a delay like in the US), but Rio2016.com will be covering the event live on its live blog from 14:00 local time on Friday. Check back in. We'll have a ton of lovely things to tell you about.

Who is responsible for the show's creation?

Brazilian film director Fernando Meirelles and producer Daniela Thomas have created an opening ceremony with a budget which is a tenth of Danny Boyle's London 2012 opening ceremony. Meirelles, who directed the wildly successful Brazilian movie City of God, said: "I'm very glad we're not spending money like crazy. I'm happy to work with this low budget because it makes sense for Brazil." 

How long does the opening ceremony last?

For just over four hours. There will be dancing, lights, fireworks, some history, some celebrites...

What time is Olympic Games opening ceremony for RiBrazilian model Gisele Bündchen will make an appearance at the Maracana (Rio 2016 / Alex Ferro)

Then the Parade of Nations begins, starting with Greece then, in (Portuguese) alphabetical order, all the other countries.

The Refugee Olympic Team are the penultimate participants with Brazil bringing up the rear. Expect the biggest cheer of the night for them. And some samba! 

How can I best follow Rio 2016 on social media?

Facebook

facebook.com/rio2016

Twitter 

English: Rio2016_en (twitter.com/rio2016_en)

Spanish: Rio2016_es (twitter.com/rio2016_es)

Portuguese: Rio2016 (twitter.com/rio2016)

Vinicius Mascot: ViniciusRio2016 (twitter.com/viniciusrio2016)

Tom Mascot: TomRio2016 (twitter.com/tomrio2016)

Instagram - Rio2016 (www.instagram.com/rio2016/

Snapchat - Rio2016   

Weibo (China) - weibo.com/5917680267/

What are the exact opening ceremony start times across the world?

Country Code Country Time Time Zone GMT
AFG Afghanistan Saturday, August 6, 03:30:00  AFT GMT+4:30
ALB Albania Saturday, August 6, 01:00:00  CEST GMT +2
ALG Algeria Saturday, August 6, 00:00:00  CET GMT +1
ASA American Samoa Friday, August 5, 12:00:00  SST GMT-11
AND Andorra Saturday, August 6, 01:00:00  CEST GMT +2
ANG Angola Saturday, August 6, 00:00:00  WAT GMT +1
ANT Antigua and Barbuda Friday, August 5, 19:00:00  AST GMT-4
ARG Argentina Friday, August 5, 20:00:00  ART GMT-3
ARM Armenia Saturday, August 6, 03:00:00 AMT GMT+4
ARU Aruba Friday, August 5, 19:00:00  AST GMT-4
AUS Australia: Sydney Saturday, 6 August, 09:00:00 AEST GMT+10
AUS Australia: Adelaide Saturday, 6 August 2016, 08:30:00 ACST GMT+9:30
AUS Australia: Perth Saturday, 6 August 2016, 07:00:00 AWST GMT+8
AUT Austria Saturday, 6 August 2016, 01:00:00  CEST GMT+2
AZE Azerbaijan Saturday, 6 August 2016, 03:00:00  AZT UTC +4
BAH Bahamas Friday, August 5 2016, 19:00:00  EDT UTC-4
BRN Bahrain Saturday, 6 August 2016, 02:00:00  AST GMT+3
BAN Bangladesh Saturday, 6 August 2016, 05:00:00  BST GMT +6
BAR Barbados Friday, August 5 2016, 19:00:00  AST GMT-4
BLR Belarus Saturday, 6 August 2016, 02:00:00  MSK GMT +3
BEL Belgium Saturday, 6 August 2016, 01:00:00  CEST GMT +2
BIZ Belize Friday, August 5 2016, 17:00:00  CST GMT-6
BEN Benin Saturday, 6 August 2016, 00:00:00  WAT GMT+1
BER Bermuda Friday, August 5 2016, 20:00:00  ADT GMT-3
BHU Bhutan Saturday, 6 August 2016, 05:00:00  BTT GMT+6
BOL Bolivia Friday, August 5 2016, 19:00:00  BOT GMT-4
BIH Bosnia and Herzegovina Saturday, 6 August 2016, 01:00:00  CEST GMT+2
BOT Botswana Saturday, 6 August 2016, 01:00:00  CAT GMT+2
BRA Brazil: Ilha Fernando de Noronha Friday, 5 August 2016, 21:00:00 FNT GMT-2
BRA Brazil: Rio Friday, 5 August 2016, 20:00:00 BRT GMT-3
BRA Brazil: Manaus Friday, 5 August 2016, 19:00:00 AMT GMT-4
BRU Brunei Darussalam Saturday, 6 August 2016, 07:00:00  BNT GMT+8
BUL Bulgaria Saturday, 6 August 2016, 02:00:00  EEST GMT+3
BUR Burkina Faso Saturday, 6 August 2016, 23:00:00  GMT GMT
BDI Burundi Saturday, 6 August 2016, 01:00:00  CAT GMT+2
CAM Cambodia Saturday, 6 August 2016, 06:00:00